Tags

, ,


If you have never read anything about this place before then it would be some how difficult to read the name of this place. But if you visit here in rainy season, you would definitely love it. If you are looking for some caves to visit around Pune then it is a best option.

I always love to visit historic places, just like forts, palaces. Ghoravadeshwar is a small mountain and there is no any fort or palace on the top but still I love to visit here. There are some small caves within the mountain and you would find temple of God Shankar and Vitthal inside those caves. There are well maintained steps to climb the mountain and there is no any kind of risk factor to travel around. Even it is a safe place to travel with kids as well.

Ghorawadeshvar Steps To Climb

Ghorawadeshvar Steps To Climb

As I remember, I visited here first time with my mom when I was in school. I will recommend traveling here in rainy season when you can see great greenery around and you can get wet under so many waterfalls. There are some other places to visit around Ghoravadeshwar where you can love to visit such as grand statue of god Ganesh,Saibaba temple at Shirgaon village and temple of goddess Amarjai.

It is very easy to reach at Ghoravadeshwar Mountain and it would be a best one day return trip destination from Pune or Lonavala. To visit Ghoravadeshwar you can take local train from Pune or Lonavala railway station and get down at Begadewadi railway station. From both of the places you will reach here within forty minutes. Mountain is so close from station such as you can see it from railway station. You will reach at the base within just ten minutes by walk and you will reach on the top, near the temple of god Shankar within the half an hour.

At one of the Ghoravwadeshvar Caves

At one of the Ghoravwadeshvar Caves

I visited Ghoravadeshwar with my two college friends Dhiraj and Aditya. Actually I invited so many of my friends but due to some of their individual problems they all could not join us. Dhiraj and Aditya came from Pune to Begadewadi by local train and I also reached there by train from my living place Vadgaon. There was one more guy, Indrajeet who was roommate of Dhiraj and we all started walking toward the mountain. There was great cool air around and as it was rainy season, the mountain covered with beautiful greenery. We started climbing the mountain and as we reached up to middle of it, suddenly it started raining. I was just like icing on cake. I enjoyed the monsoon and beauty of nature. We saw some of the peacocks also there.

We visited some of the caves including Shankar and Vitthal temple and many waterfalls.

Grand Ganpati Statue

Grand Ganpati Statue

As there was so much time with us, we decided to visit Ganesha statue and Shirgaon temple as well. As we reached at Ganesha statue, the rain was stopped and we could see the beautiful view of Talegaon city. After spending some time there we move toward the Shirgaon village. We attended the Aarti at the Saibaba temple and again came back to Ghorawadi railway station. Aditya, Dhiraj and Indrajeet took the train towards the Pune and I came back to Wadgaon.

It was really a nice small one day return trip. As I have written before, if you also have to visit Ghoravadeshwar then rainy season is the ideal and it is a nice family tourist destination. If you have not visited here yet then I must say that please plan your trip at least once and you would love this place.

