Tags

, , ,


Tikona is one of the forts which are located much closer to my living place Vadgaon Maval. If compared with distance of Lohagad fort, Tikona is much closer. I heard so many praising words about Tikona fort but never got the chance to visit there. Finally wish completed in rainy season of 2012.

My trip to Tikona fort is a special one for me because it was just like reunion of my friends from my junior college. After completing my HSC I met all of them after around couple of years. So it was different trekking experience with a different group of friends. Nikhil, Shrirang, Akshay and Devendra these are some of my friends from my junior college who are living in Akurdi City. From Akurdi, all of they leave early in morning to travel to Tikona For and I joined them on the way, at Vadgaon.

Tikona Fort - View from base village

Tikona Fort – View from base village

This fort is called as Tikona because it is situated on a mountain which is naturally in triangular shape. Trikon is a Marathi words which means triangle. That is why the fort is called as TikonaTikona fort is located near Kamshet City. It would be much better if you have your own vehicle to visit Tikona. Fort is located in remote area and much far away from central area of Kamshet city. If your are traveling on national highway 4 towards Lonavala from Pune then after around 50 KM you need to take aleft turn towards Pawana dam. After traveling around half an hour you will reach up to the base village of Tikona Fort.

We had group of five friends on two bikes. We all follow the same route and reach up to base village. As it was rainy season so we all enjoyed the beautiful surrounding nature. Intentionally, I did not take my rain coat with me to enjoy the rain. It was really a lovely bike riding experience and we enjoy the great view of surrounding mountains, waterfalls, greenery and Pawana dam.

Our Entire Group On the Top of Tikona

Our Entire Group On the Top of Tikona

From the base of the Tikona fort it will take hardly an hour to reach up to the top. Entrance of fort and some part of fort wall is still in good condition. You can also see an ancient temple of Lord Shiva a huge water tank on the top. We clicked so many images of surrounding mountains and green area. When we all were at the top most area of the fort then rain started with full force along with birthing air. We all were covered by clouds. It was really awesome feeling of enjoying the rain on the top of any fort surrounded by beautiful nature. I will never forget this lovely experience.

